2014 End of Year Book Survey

Hello hello hello my lovelies! Well, here we are, at the end of another year of work, school, dramas, yummy food, friendships, laughs, tears, and lots and lots of reading! This year has been very hectic and stressful for me, what with school and a few dramas happening at home, but looking back I do feel as though I’ve grown and become a better person and more in tune with who I am. As a final look back at the year that has been, I’ve decided to partake in a survey hosted by Jamie over at Perpetual Page-Turner that will have me look back at my year of reading and blogging. I won’t be filling out the whole survey, as I don’t think blog stats are all that important to talk about, but if any of you also want to fill it out for yourself, the whole survey can be found here.

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

(If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

Oooh I read a lot of good books this year, but if I had to pick just one, I’d say it would be The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy. This is the last book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series-one of my most favourite series ever- and as a conclusion, it certainly did not disappoint. It was such an emotional rollercoaster, and I definitely recommend that everyone read the series; it’s absolutely spectacular.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I’d have to say The Stranger by Camilla Lackberg. I picked it up cheap at a newsagent’s (always the first sign), but I thought it would be a more exciting read than it was. I mean, it was an alright mystery for light reading, but I was expecting it to be more exciting than it turned out to be.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? 

I’m not sure if it counts as a book, but in English this year, we read the Shakespeare play Macbeth. Before now, I’d only read Romeo and Juliet, and the amount of analysis we did on that text made me rather sick of it by the end of the topic. With Macbeth however, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it and continued enjoying it, even with a whole term and a half studying it. There was always something new to discover and I ended up scoring an A on my English exam in which I wrote an essay on the text.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

I pushed a lot of my friends to read The Dying of the Light, and quite a few actually did. Mostly, I just wanted people to cry with me over the beauty that was that book. To put it in perspective, this was like the last Harry Potter book all over again for me, that’s how much I adored this series and how much it hurt me to finish it.

 5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

I haven’t read many series this year, but I was quite impressed by the series starter and debut novel Starters by Lissa Price. I haven’t read the second book in the series, Enders, yet, but I hope to sometime next year.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

John Green. I know I know, it’s a shocker that I hadn’t read any of his books until now, but he had me at Looking for Alaska.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I don’t typically read romance novels. I’m not really into reading mushy lovey-dovey books- Twilight ruined that for me- but some of the ones I’ve read this year, including Ava Dellaria’s Love Letters to the Dead and Michael Cunningham’s A Home at the End of the World have made me think that maybe it’s not so bad after all.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

It’s a draw between Derek Landy’s short story collection Armageddon Outta Here, and The Dying of the Light. Both were absolutely chock-full of fast-paced action, snappy humour and charming characters.

 9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I make a point of re-reading the Harry Potter and Skulduggery Pleasant series every year, and next year will be no different.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Valkyrie Cain- Skulduggery Pleasant series. She is just my favourite person ever.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

It’s a tie between Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson and A Home at the End of the World by Michael Cunningham. Both books were just so beautiful to read.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

I’d say Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson. It really brought to light a new perspective on anorexia and depression for me.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read? 

John Green’s Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars. WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING WAITING SO LONG I AM AN IDIOT.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

“Yes, just for a moment he loved his crooked neighbors with his crooked heart” – Tim Winton, Eyrie.

Oh, and I have to include this one because it’s bloody hilarious. I was watching this TV show last night, one of my favourites, called Life on Mars and the two main characters, Sam Tyler and Gene Hunt, are always getting down each other’s throats. Every line that comes out of Hunt’s mouth is pure gold, but this line had me in tears I was laughing so hard:

“If I were as worried as you, I wouldn’t fart for fear of shitting myself”– Gene Hunt, Life on Mars.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest: The Book of Jonas by Stephen Dau- 258 pages.
Longest: A Song of Ice and Fire- A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin- 852 pages including the appendix and acknowledgements.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace Lancaster- The Fault in Our Stars. I cry for 300 years.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Valkyrie Cain and Skulduggery Pleasant- Skulduggery Pleasant series. These two are my life.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Dying of the Light- Derek Landy. I’ve read the whole Skulduggery Pleasant series several times now since the release of the first book in 2007.

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Starters by Lissa Price. Thank you Katherine ❤ xx

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Augustus Waters. Always Augustus Waters.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

I haven’t read a 2014 debut book from an author, but Lissa Price’s 2012 debut Starters was the best. Eh, it’s close enough ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

George R.R. Martin’s A Feast for Crows. You really feel a part of the world of Westeros, and the different atmospheres of different regions were described exquisitely.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Derek Landy’ Armageddon Outta Here. Even that title man…

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy. What an emotional ride.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Eyrie by Tim Winton. I’m so glad I read that.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Fault in Our Stars and The Dying of the Light.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

Starters by Lissa Price. That was pretty rad.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy. stOP ToyING WIth MY EMoTionS GODdamMIT!!!!

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Also, a friend recommended Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas which I have yet to read, so I will hunt it down in the new year.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

I pray to my lucky stars that the next book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, The Winds of Winter, will be released.

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I don’t really know of any 2015 debut novels yet. We’ll just see what’s coming!

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

It’s already been released, but I’m going to read the sequel to Lissa Price’s StartersEnders, next year which I’m really looking forward to.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

It’s year 12 for me in 2015, so I’m not going to set myself too many goals. All I’m going to do is try my best to read every day and update my blog consistently. After next year, I can start focussing more on challenges and push myself to do more.

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I haven’t read any yet, but if anyone else has any they’d like to recommend, I’d love to hear your suggestions!

 

2014 has been a big year and I thank you all so much for being a part of it. I still can’t quite believe that anyone actually reads and likes what I post on my blog, but to all of you who have stuck by me, I can’t tell you how grateful I am! Here’s to another year of wonderful madness!

-Christie 🙂 xx

One thought on “2014 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Pingback: Reading Challenges 2015: Around the World in 12 Books Challenge | A Study in Daydreams

Leave a Reply

