WWW Wednesdays – July 16th

This is my first WWW Wednesdays post! I’ve seen so many other blogs that I follow participating in this that I thought that I’d give it a try!

WWW Wednesdays is an event hosted by Should Be Reading that asks three questions:

What are you currently reading?
I’m currently reading A Home at the End of the World by Michael Cunningham. I don’t know that much about the author and this is the first book of his that I’ve read, and I’m only a couple of chapters in so it’s a little too soon to be decisive on whether I like it or not, but I think it has great potential to be a very interesting story.

What did you recently finish reading?
Early last week I finished The Book of Jonas by Steven Dau, the review of which can be found here. It was a really good and rather sad story about the struggles of those who have survived war having to again adjust to a normal life, and what I found interesting was that the story followed a teenage boy, which I felt was an intriguing and really effective way of telling the story.

More recently I finished reading (twice) the second-to-last instalment of Derek Landy’s Skulduggery Pleasant series, Armageddon Outta Here. It is a collection of short stories and novellas following the adventures of the characters of Pleasant in between each of the main novels. Maybe my judgement is a little clouded because of my long-standing attachment to the Skulduggery Pleasant series, but I loved this book so much! I found the stories both hilarious and intense, the action sequences keeping me glued to the book and on the edge of my seat. I can’t wait for (but also dread) the coming of the last book! I know it’ll probably end up with a lot of crying and tea and days spent in my pyjamas.

What do you think you’ll read next?
I went to the city the other day and found myself in a bookstore in the middle of a clearance sale (fancy that), and I bought a couple of thrillers (three for $12! I dunno about the rest of you but in Australia, that’s a bargain!) Of the three that I bought, I think I’ll read The Stranger by Camilla Lackberg next!

What are you guys reading? I’d love to hear, and if you have any suggestions or recommendations, let me know in the comments!

-Christie 🙂 xx

 

Leave a Reply

